STAAR Testing

STAAR

“The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness, commonly referred to as its acronym STAAR (star), are a series of state-mandated standardized tests used in Texas public primary and secondary schools to assess a student’s achievements and knowledge learned in the grade level.”

Hello from inside a STAAR testing room. Don’t worry I’m allowed to write on my blog right now because I just finished taking it. I had nothing to do, so instead of staring at the chameleon painted on the ceiling for the next two hours, I decided to some blogging. This is way better.

If you don’t know what STAAR is then, read the description above. Long description short, it’s a test students take for the state. In other words, it’s a useless test for students here in Texas. I just finished taking the Reading STAAR about an hour ago. And let me tell you, I was so relieved to get out of the plastic chair I was confined to. My body aches now.

So anyway, before I started writing this post, I read a couple of articles of the STAAR test, and I found out stuff I didn’t know.

Apparently, there were a bunch of problems in last year’s tests, that cost Texas over 20 million dollars to fix, including a computer glitch which erased scores of thousands of students. There was also a lawsuit against the state for making the test too long. (source)

And because of these problems parents at a  school in Houston started an Opt Out Academy which allows for students to not take the State Administered Test. (source)

I also learned that the STAAR was shortened but we were still given the same amount of time, even though statistically 3-5 graders take two hours while 6-8 take three hours to take the test. However, for me, the test seemed the same length. Perhaps it was only shortened a couple of questions. In the same article, it says that TEA (Texas Education Agency) encourages districts to let finished students go outside. But my whole class is finished, along with classes in our hallway, and we are still cooped in this classroom. (For more changes click here )

I don’t know how much longer I’ll be in this math classroom, but writing this post has certainly taken my mind off of how crazy I look when staring at the ceiling. But I can’t help the fact but to think that people are watching me as I ferociously attack the keyboard to write this. I’m frustrated and done with life.

Thank you for reading this, even if it made no sense what so ever.

Hoping I (maybe) passed.

-Riddhi (evilree21)

 

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I am dying. I always want to cry multiple times over the course of these tests. Bored, tired, sick of being in the same room, feeling pity for students.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

